Skip to content

Stephen Flaherty

Stephen Flaherty

Stephen Flaherty is a composer who writes for theater, film and the concert hall. His primary collaborator for over 25 years is the lyricist-librettist Lynn Ahrens.

For Broadway, Flaherty has written the scores for Ragtime (1997) (1998 Tony®, Drama Desk, and Outer Critics Circle Awards), Once on This Island (1989) (Olivier Award for Best Musical, Tony® nomination), Seussical (2000), Chita Rivera: The Dancer’s Life (2005) (original songs), and Neil Simon’s Proposals (incidental music). For Lincoln Center Theater, he has written the scores for The Glorious Ones, Dessa Rose, A Man of No Importance (Outer Critics Circle Award for Best Musical) and My Favorite Year (Broadway, 1992). Off-Broadway and regional scores include Loving Repeating: A Musical of Gertrude Stein (Chicago’s Jefferson Award for Best Musical), and the farce Lucky Stiff (1988).

Flaherty’s work in film includes the song score for the animated feature Anastasia and the original score for the documentary After the Storm. His concert commissions include American River Suite and With Voices Raised.

The Ahrens and Flaherty Songbook, a print anthology of his work with Ms. Ahrens, is available through Alfred Publications. Additionally, Stephen’s music has been nominated for two Academy Awards®, two Golden Globe Awards and three Grammy Awards®, among others. His most recent appearance on Broadway was the 2009 Kennedy Center revival of Ragtime.

For more information please visit